Architectural wonders at the CAC

If you know anything about me you know that I love architecture. I think in my past life I might have been an engineer or architect. I often marvel at the beautiful architecture that is so readily available in Chicago and consider myself lucky to have so much architectural beauty in my backyard. When it comes to buildings, the final product is often what captures one’s gaze but the inside workings and the engineering that goes into that final product intrigues me just as much. Not only do the skyscrapers and museum campuses grab my attention but a well put together apartment or park can easily catch my eye. Carl Smith’s, The Plan of Chicago: Daniel Burnham and the Remaking of an American City, has had a major influence on me and has helped nurture that love for architecture. Learning about the creation of the city boulevards, the Magnificent mile, and Grant Park in the book had me wanting to learn more. Any opportunity I get to learn more about the inner workings of architecture I immediately jump at.

Riding the “L” the other day I looked up and to my surprise there was another opportunity to learn more. I saw an advertisement for the Chicago Architecture Center (CAC) and immediately started making plans to visit.

img_1970

875 N Michigan Ave (Formerly John Hancock Center)

2321829e-79f9-4452-bc94-5a4fb0142455.jpg

Marina Towers 300 N State St

img_1975

150 N Riverside

The Chicago Architecture Center, formerly known as the Chicago Architecture Foundation, has made its mission to inspire people to discover why design matters. Their Vision, “The Chicago Architecture Center is the leading organization devoted to celebrating and promoting Chicago as a center of architectural innovation. As Chicago’s forum for the exchange of ideas on urban design, the CAC inspires people to participate in the building of vibrant communities and to demand the highest standard in urban design. The CAC awakens young people to achieve their potential through the discovery of architecture, engineering and design.” (About Page: http://www.architecture.org/about/about-us/our-history/). Located on 111 E Wacker Dr., this center is conveniently located adjacent to the Chicago River and is surrounded by many of Chicago’s finest architectural wonders. Admission to the center is $12 for adults, $8 for students, and free for children under 5.

I walked into the center with much enthusiasm and wonder and I did not leave disappointed. The first exhibit I started with was the Chicago 3D model, located on the first floor. It gives you an amazing birds eye view of the city! The first floor also gives you a look into how the city prospered after the Great Chicago Fire.

img_1952

3D Model of Chicago

img_1976

On the second floor, you won’t only learn about the cities current designs but you will also be transported into what future urban cities might look like. The second floor will also give you a glimpse into international architectural wonders that include super sized and miniature models. The center puts a tremendous emphasis and highlight great design, environmentally friendly buildings, technological innovation, and human cooperation. I was blown away by the models on display and could have stayed much longer to examine every model with precise detail. Unfortunately, I did not have more time but I plan to return to the CAC in the near future.

One building that stood out to me during my visit was the Oasia Hotel located in Singapore. The Council on Tall Buildings & Urban Habitat awarded this building the Best Tall Building Worldwide 2018. The open air terraces and red/green covered building just speaks to me. It feels like a fresh take on current architecture and incorporates surrounding nature into the building. The open air terraces account for 40% of the buildings volume and give any visitor a beautiful view and space to take in nature and architecture together.

img_1974

Past winners of Best Tall Building awarded by The Council on Tall Buildings and Urban Habitat. Oasia Hotel on left hand side.

Image result for oasia hotel singapore council on tall buildings and urban habitat

Oasia Hotel open air terraces

Image result for oasia hotel singapore council on tall buildings and urban habitat

You won’t want to miss this exhibit and I highly recommend the CAC if you are visiting from out of town or even if you are a local looking to learn more about the beauty of architecture.

Visit the Chicago Architecture Center website for more information http://www.architecture.org

4F9A33DF-AD63-4DAA-B43C-83298BB82953

90EB72D0-9007-4086-9B2B-F16D23B5F783

1CB8AEBA-BCEC-44F1-8054-888E4E06BA5B

img_1957

img_1962

Steinway Tower. 111 w 57th Street New York

img_1960

Burj Khalifa. Dubai, U.A.E

img_1961

img_1969

6095aba1-fac4-4d28-8eb1-6ef91c82fc9f

Leave a comment