The Icon

IMG_2348

One of the most anticipated exhibits at the Art Institute of Chicago this year was “Andy Warhol: From A to B and back again” When I caught wind that the exhibit would be coming to Chicago. I had to return to one of my favorite places in the windy city, the Art Institute. You often hear of the art icons Basquait, Haring, Picasso, and Warhol in popular culture. I’ve had the pleasure of seeing some of the works of these icons before but I had not seen much of Andy Warhol in particular. With over 400 of his personal works on display it was a no brainer for me. I had to visit. By the end of the exhibit, I was shown the true brilliance of the man and why he is so highly regarded. Let me give you a glimpse of this master at work.

I turned the corner to Michigan avenue to behold the famous lions guarding the entrance to the building. Stretched extensively down the block a line to get in had formed and had me worried. Luckily, I preordered my tickets and did not have to wait outside. I noticed many in line were excited to be there and to view the exhibit. Much to my dismay, there was a secondary line formed inside the massive museum hall specifically for this exhibit. At this point I realized I had not been to anything like this before. It was very exciting. Definitely a different way to take in visual art!

IMG_2350

IMG_2320

IMG_2349

I had finally made it. Upon entering the gallery one could see some of Warhol’s signature styles immediately. The wall was covered with celebrity photos, cow wallpaper, and at the far end you could see the famous portrait of Mao. The exhibit takes a look back at the periods of Warhol’s artistic works. Works included everything from film, drawings, sculpture, prints, and installations that show the true range of this innovator.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

The 60s is where you really start to see Warhol’s use of commercial products and logosbeing used. The classic Coke bottles were what first drew my attention but as I walked further into this timeframe the Superman 1961 painting was one that really stood out to me. Unfortunately, we weren’t able to take any photos or video of this one but you can’t say people didn’t try. The use of comic books and one of America’s most iconic superheroes had me amazed and excited for what was still in store.

It was interesting to see some of Andy’s self-portraits. I always find it fascinating to see how an artist sees himself/herself over their lives. Throughout the many years that image changes much like the passing time. Andy’s self portraits are no exception. The wealth of color with each passing portrait is what stands out in the works and I quite enjoyed it.

IMG_2329

Self-Portrait, 1964

IMG_2334

IMG_2340

Besides the many pop culture references and the commercial logos widely used in his works, Warhol is known for celebrity. His infatuation with celebrities from all walks of life is widely known and it was a joy to see some of the many art works created from their likenesses. Being able to see prints of Warhol’s peers like Marilyn Monroe, Muhammad Ali, and Liza Minnelli was great. Each image had a certain intimacy to it that gave me an opportunity to see these celebrities in a different light.

CBB99DC2-FB88-4C24-952A-71F64CAF158D

Mao, 1972

Andy was a celebrity and icon in his time. He chose to indulge and immerse himself in the life of celebrity and I believe that gave an interesting edge to his work. He didn’t choose to be the reclusive artist and I think we all benefit from that.

Art is often influenced by one’s environment. Some of Andy’s later 70s and 80s work began to reflect the tumultuous time. A grieving Jackie Kennedy, a gun, electric chairs, photos of a gruesome car crash and skulls were the focus of Andy’s Death and Disaster phase. These images were certainly powerful and show not the beauty of life but the realness and darkness that is part of life. As I moved to the end of the exhibit, you see his artwork become more cerebral and abstract. I originally was introduced to Andy Warhol through the artwork of Jean-Michel Basquiat so it was a treat to see their collaborative work on display as well. Paramount and Third Eye show two icons embracing each other’s signature style and is a wonder to see.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Andy Warhol was and is an influential artist in Pop Art but his reach goes beyond that. My visit to the Andy Warhol exhibit showed me the true brilliance of the man and why he is so highly regarded. You can see the influence and intrigue of his work through the excitement and gathering of the masses just to get a glimpse of his work. The range, experimentation, collaboration, and true uniqueness of his art is second to none. It was a pleasure and inspiration to see an artistic icon’s work in this way, further cementing his place in history for a new generation.

Fore Information visit: https://www.artic.edu/exhibitions/2937/andy-warhol-from-a-to-b-and-back-again

IMG_2339

Gun, 1981-82

070273B0-0CED-4548-A7EC-768F6428D241(1)

 

IMG_2336

4F8D30B8-18E3-4A27-B5D5-AAC74D6DDFB6

Shot Orange Marilyn, 1964

 

IMG_2326

Dick Tracy, 1960

 

IMG_2330

Flowers, 1964

IMG_2345

Third Eye, Jean-Michel Basquiat-Andy Warhol 1985

 

 

IMG_2346

Paramount, 1986

 

 

 

Leave a comment